St James’ Anglican Church
  • Graaff-Reinet

Last Updated: March 2019

Go Back

Contact Details

  • 049- 892 2458


  • 35 Somerset Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280

  • Longitude: 24.536636
  • Latitude: -32.250891
  • Map

Business Hours

  • 07h30 Morning Service

    09h00 Holy Communion

About St James’ Anglican Church

The oldest original church building in use is St James’ Church situated in Somerset Street. The original church consisting of the present nave was built and consecrated on the 29 October 1850.

The chancel and sanctuary were added in 1868 and consecrated in 1870 whilst the entrance porch was added in 1874. The interior fittings date from different periods; the pews from 1885, the alter and reredos from 1891 and the pulpit from 1935.

After the First World War the chancel screen was carved and installed in memory of those who had served in the war. The previous organ chamber was converted in the late 1970s into a Lady Chapel dedicated to the Virgin Mary.

Map and Directions to St James’ Anglican Church

© Emfuleni Corridor Tourism - 2022 | Links | List / Manage Your Business | St James’ Anglican Church

Website Design and Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) by ZAWebs Designs | Web Hosting by ZAWebs Hosting